Electorate Overview

The Auckland Central electorate is a very diverse community. Within the Western Bays there are many different communities from Ponsonby to Grey Lynn to Westmere. The suburbs of Auckland Central include Arch Hill, the Central City, Freemans Bay, Grey Lynn, Herne Bay, Mechanics Bay, Newton, Ponsonby, St Marys Bay, Western Springs and Westmere. Auckland Central also includes a number of islands in the Hauraki Gulf including Great Barrier Island and Waiheke Island.